How We Disappeared

Author(s): Lee Jing-Jing

Adult Fiction

LONGLISTED FOR THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 WOMEN'S PRIZE

A LIBRARY JOURNAL EMERGING STARS PICK

A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, "a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love" (New York Times)--for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a "comfort woman." After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two timelines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family's experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

$39.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781786074126
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Oneworld Publications
  • : 0.548
  • : February 2019
  • : 3.2 Centimeters X 15.8 Centimeters X 23 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lee Jing-Jing
  • : OO
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 352